Dedication to Monty Oum

As posted in my original blog, RetroGrade Reviews.

I never met Monty Oum.  I always felt like it would have just been too amazing to be possible . . . I suppose that’s true now.  I’ll never in this life be able to thank him for everything he did for me and for others out there like me.  But I’m going to try by writing it here and hoping that, wherever he is now, he’ll hear me.

I first saw Monty’s videos when I was in high school.  Back then, like many writers and creators, I felt separated from other people.  Whether it was because those other people thought fantasy and science fiction were immature and weird or whether they thought I was weird for putting so much effort into it, there was never anyone there who I truly felt connected to.

And then there were these Youtube videos.  These brilliant, insane videos I couldn’t stop watching.  These were the work of someone who put his heart and soul into everything he did, who saw things the way I did, and who had an imagination like mine.  I am not on par with this man’s brilliance, and I do not claim to be.  Monty was better than me and he is likely better than I will ever be.  I may never have his drive, his imagination, or his creative spirit.  But Monty and his work have always inspired me to try.  And I will always try, like the countless others Monty has inspired.  I will never stop.  I will keep moving forward.

And so I dedicate this blog, all the posts herein, and all of my future endeavors as a writer to the man who helped me realize that I am not alone.

Rest in peace, Monty.  I miss you.

Leave a Reply

